The Detail appoints new editorial team

THE Detail has today appointed new editors to lead Northern Ireland’s award winning investigative news and analysis website.

Steven McCaffery is the new Editor of The Detail.

Kathryn Torney has been appointed the website’s first Deputy Editor.

They succeed The Detail’s founding editor Ruth O’Reilly, who played an outstanding role in establishing the site.

Steven joined The Detail in October 2012, after six years at Press Association Ireland where he was Deputy Editor. Steven was previously News Editor of The Irish News.

He has reported on politics for The Detail since joining the team and will continue to write about political developments as Editor.

Kathryn has won a series of awards for her groundbreaking data journalism work since joining The Detail.

She was named Digital Journalist of the Year in the CIPR NI Media Awards 2013.The Royal Statistical Society named Kathryn as the online winner of its 2013 Statistical Excellence in Journalism Awards for her investigation into segregation in Northern Ireland’s schools.

Kathryn was Education Correspondent of the Belfast Telegraph before becoming a member of the team that founded The Detail in 2011 and she will continue to work on data journalism projects and other reporting alongside her new responsibilities.

Co-founder of The Detail Trevor Birney said: "The Detail is now firmly established as a vital voice in the Northern Ireland media.

“The entire team, and former Editor Ruth, deserve huge credit for that.

“With Steven and Kathryn now taking on important new roles, we can look forward to building on that success, in what promises to be an exciting time ahead.”

Receive The Detail story alerts by email